Life Hates You When You’re 23

People started telling me to “cherish my time” in the middle of high school. Which is kind of funny to me, because there was almost nothing about high school that I wanted to cherish, so I responded with “HA no.”

Then I got to college and those a few years older than me told me to “enjoy everything while you can, because college goes way too fast.” However, between hours of studying for a test I was still probably going to fail and penny pinching just so I could buy Zaxby’s, I was pretty okay with college hurrying itself up.

But then. OH THEN.

Then I entered into a time where I couldn’t remember what day it was, but I was pretty sure it was Tuesday…but it was really Thursday of the next week. I started weekends and would blink once, and the month was over.

I was placed into a time warp that I was given no instructions for besides, “It goes by fast.”

And then I finally understood it all. It finally all came crashing down, and Ferris Bueller was right all along.

Live moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

I think back to when I was 17, wishing I was out of school and working full-time. I wanted to be out on my own, doing what I love and enjoying what the world could offer. It doesn’t even seem like that was six years ago. I am now 23, an age that wasn’t even on my radar, not an age I ever could imagine me being.

I get it now. I will now continue the legacy of “Enjoy it while you can” commentators. I will gladly sit on my porch, rocking back and forth in my chair, mumbling about the good ole days. Saying things like, “If I had only known life just gets harder” or “Enjoy your youth. It will be taken from you in a second.”

Now seems like the right time to start investing in lap blankets and photo albums.

 

Leave a Reply

