You Could Be the Sweetest Peach, but Someone Isn’t Going to Like Peaches

I have never met a person who didn’t like my mom. The moment anyone meets her, they suddenly remind me how lucky I am to have such a great person in my life. I’m not sharing this to give my mom a big head or anything, but it is just something I have always grown up experiencing: everyone loving my mom. Well, almost everyone.

Mom and I were shopping the other day when she ran into someone she used to work with. While checking out, she was being her usual kind and interested-in-everyone’s-life self, and her former co-worker seemed to be happy to see her. After the conversation Mom laughed and mentioned, “That man couldn’t stand working with me.”

My jaw dropped. What? Someone disliked my mother? My mother who just stood there and asked him about his life and how he was doing and if he was happy and how good it was to see him. I couldn’t wrap my mind around it. Someone disliked the person everyone else loved? Was he mentally unstable?

“You know, not everyone you meet or work with is going to like you,” she stated, unknowingly spouting some truth into my life.

The hardest thing for me to deal with is someone not liking me. As someone who tries so hard to get to know people and connect with them, I take it very personally when someone ends up not liking me or not wanting to know me.

Like in kindergarten when you would go up to another student and actually ask, “Want to be friends?” Having the kid look at you and yell “NO!” before running away is the equivalent of having someone decide they don’t like you in adulthood. It’s upsetting. You think everyone else is going to do the same thing. The fear of never playing with anyone on the swings again is way too real.

You can be the ripest, juiciest peach in the world, and there’s still going to be somebody who hates peaches – Dita Von Tesse

I’m not sure when or where I first heard someone share this quote with me, but I am glad it has stayed with me ever since. You can be your truest, most authentic self, and it still may not be good enough for someone. But that’s the thing about being so much of yourself: you won’t be for everyone. Just like pizza may not be everyone’s favorite food or cats may not be on everyone’s preferred pet list, that doesn’t mean millions of other people don’t love pizza or cats.

So, not everyone is going to like you. Which you will have to get over and just go run into the arms of those who love you. Wave to the haters while you eat your favorite pizza or pet your awesome cat.

Also, if you are someone who doesn’t like my mom: I don’t like you.

Leave a Reply

