Why Is Honesty The Hardest Policy

I think my first experience with lying getting me into huge trouble was a fight I had with my dad about a banana. Every morning before elementary school, I was responsible for feeding myself a healthy breakfast. Being an annoying 8-year-old, I didn’t exactly like to eat, so one morning when my dad asked if I had eaten I said, “Yes, a banana.” Now, I didn’t really think this through, and, oh, my dad knew it. After about 15 minutes of him asking if I was lying and me denying it, he dumped the whole trash can on the table and asked me to point out the banana peel. Why didn’t I just say, “No, I didn’t eat”? Actually, why didn’t I just eat the flipping banana? Who knows, but that was the biggest fight I ever had with my dad, and it was all because I lied about produce.

Granted, my family laughs about that story all the time, but I will always remember it because it reminds me of how ridiculous it is to lie. This year as one of my personal goals I have decided to be as truthful as I can be. Totally not saying I’m going to be blunt with the “do I look fat in this?” subject because everyone knows better than that, but most everything else is going to have 100% FACTUAL FROM THE MIND OF KIM FOWLER stamped on it.

The fact that I had to make this decision for myself is strange. Our society is so dependent on drama and exaggeration that it doesn’t seem so weird that I myself have covered up the most irrelevant truths with a blatant lie. For example, the other day someone asked me if I enjoyed the food at dinner. We were at a restuarant; I had paid for my own meal, but I didn’t really like the food. You know what I said though? “It was okay.” Why, WHY didn’t I just say no? It would have made LITERALLY no difference in my life or the life of the friend who asked the question that made no difference to her. Sometimes, I think people lie because the truth makes them seem negative. To prevent sounding harsh, we sugar coat our sentences. However, with so much sugar the whole truth turns into this lie that is dripping with enough glucose to cause type 2 diabetes.

Our society is so obsessed with drama and exaggeration, it seems weird but relevant that I need to make this goal for myself. So far this year, I have voiced the truth. When a friend asks if I want to go out, I don’t say I have too much homework, I say,” Not tonight, I have too much Parks and Rec to watch.” If someone asks to hang out, I won’t shy away, I will say, “As long as you don’t mention your obsession with UGA football, sounds great!” If someone asks me what is wrong, I won’t say, “Nothing,” because we all know that is the biggest lie in the book, and we all need to voice our problems at some point.

And if my father asks if I have eaten breakfast one morning, I will respond with, “No, but I was thinking about grabbing a banana.”

It will be true this time.

5 comments

  1. I got tangled in a web of lies earlier this year.When I finally came clean, it was the easiest thing. I felt like such an idiot for not doing it sooner. I’ve made a similar resolution.

Leave a Reply

