Let’s Procrastinate and Watch: ‘Hook’

I really love movies, but who doesn’t? If you meet someone who says they don’t like movies or any kind of cinematic entertainment: do not be friends with them. You don’t need that kind of negativity in your life.

So my love of movies and addiction to procrastination feed each other’s fuel daily. Now that I have my own Netflix account, I feel as though I need to be watching all TV shows, very strange documentaries and such anyways. I have decided I needed to shout it out to the world my favorite movies and why everyone should love them. The best to start out with is Hook because to me it is a classic. Here’s why I got hooked on Hook. 

First off, it is a Peter Pan/Disney/fantasy/awesome-related film. I’m a sucker for classic fairy tales, and I love Peter Pan because it doesn’t have much to do about love and everything to do about adventure and a little about mermaids. So anytime you give me a live-action option, I’m going to watch it, and probably buy it on DVD, VHS, Blu-Ray, Amazon, etc.

Mermaids all day, everyday.

Second, Robin Williams. That is enough of a reason for me to watch anything. I hate war movies, but did I watch Good Morning, Vietnam? HECK YES I DID! He is one of my favorite actors, and we should all forgive him for being on cocaine. I forgive you Robin. Keep doing you.

The film covers important stuff. Such as dealing with growing up and growing apart from those you love.

Peter visits Wendy again after many years and realizes that she is growing up and moving on with her life without him. *activate waterfalls*

Heart break.

Tinkerbell loves Peter, but Peter fell in love with someone else. I like this point they make in the film because most of the time everyone just thinks Tinkerbell is jealous of Wendy, but she is just scared of Peter leaving her. Aren’t we all scared of that?

Courage.

Captain Hook kidnaps Peter’s kids, and now Peter has to remember who he once was and get them back. Facing his fear of being out of his element, losing his family and not standing up for himself gave him strength to save the day.

There are a million other reasons I love this movie, but no one has that kind of time to talk about it with me. I did find a Buzzfeed article that I fangirled about though: 13 Things You Didn’t Know About The Movie ‘Hook’

So, on this rare snow day at Georgia College that still has just to have snow, I shall be soaking up the awesome that is Hook. I suggest you do the same ASAP.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

