aside You Should Change.

I haven’t been able to breathe deeply in weeks. October has been one of those months where you keep checking things off your to-do list to just add three more tasks each time. You complete the puzzle in front of you but turn around to find there are five others, and you don’t have the top of the box to show you what it’s supposed to look like.

But it’s in that time where you are so lost in your work that you realize you love it. Well, at least it is for me. I’m writing press releases for a non-profit who feeds my Milledgeville community. I’m a part of a team that is promoting a local salon and spa and getting their name out there. I am working with clients I genuinely love and enjoy talking to. I’m working with clients, something I have wanted to do for years. I’m writing down ideas I hope to build on and creating things that up until now have only been in the back of my mind.

If you don’t have those moments in the middle of mayhem that you feel blessed to be stressed, you can always change it. And even if you are loving what you are doing and just feel like you need a change in scenery, friends, tasks, you can. I think as humans, we love being comfortable. We like knowing what is going to happen tomorrow, what’s going to be for dinner, what the next few years of our lives are going to be like. It’s not that we don’t like change; it’s just we are programmed to plan things out to the littlest detail that we feel lost and exhausted when we have to start all over again.

It would be easy for me to say I can’t change anything about my life right now. I can’t change that I am stressed. I can’t change that I have a million things to do. I can’t change any of my circumstances. But I know that would be a lie, and the only time I lie to myself is when it’s about the calories in pizza. I can change my attitude. I can change my surroundings. I can change whatever I want.

All I need to do is drink a cup of tea, read a few chapters of Harry Potter, take about ten deep breaths, and realize this is the path I decided to take. If it doesn’t work out, then I just look at my compass and change my direction.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

