Women Crush Wednesday isn’t just for Instagram.

If you have been my friend on Facebook EVER, you may have noticed a pattern of how I tend to not smile in pictures. I have this thing where I try to make the weirdest face I can because I think it’s funny. Grated, my mother wishes I would show some teeth without my fingers on either side of my mouth, pulling my face into the expression of a monkey, but we can’t please everyone. (Maybe on my wedding day, Momma.)

I have had this mentality for a while, but I still remember where I got it from. I didn’t wake up one day and think, “I should really just not take myself so seriously” although that could have happened. No, I had inspiration.

No offence to men or anything, but women are pretty rad. We are beautiful, smart as whips, and funny. WE ARE SO FUNNY I CAN’T EVEN STAND IT. (Unless we are doing stand up, am I right? Then we can stand it…I’ll stop now, sorry.)

So here are my funny female role models.

Kristen Wiig

The first time I saw her on SNL I stalked her for next two weeks and haven’t gotten off the Wiig bandwagon yet. She is not only started her comedy history from an improv team (which is essential to having impeccable comedic timing), but in 2008-2009 on SNL she appeared in more sketches than “any other member of the cast” (IMDB.com). No even most used female but member.  You always dance like no one is watching so keep doing you Kristen!

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler 

I group them together because that is always how I see them. If you want to talk to me about hilarious comedy duos, they better be in your argument. Tina was the first female head writer on SNL ever, uhm, so this beauty is smart and witty and dat’s all I, uh, havta say boot dat. (Sarah Palin…no?) Amy stars on “Parks and Rec” while also saying amazing things like,  “No one looks stupid when they’re having fun.” And together, well you know how that goes.

Carol Burnett 

If you don’t know who this is, I don’t know who you are. The first memory I have of my mother introducing this brilliant woman to me was her parody of Sarlett O’Hara making a dress out of curtains, but Carol kept the curtain rod attached. She started her own variety show “The Carol Burnett Show” which over 11 years, earned 22 Emmy Awards and is known to be the last truly successful variety show…ever. Talk about power of the funny.

Lucille Ball

If you have ever seen “I Love Lucy” I don’t need to explain much on why I love this woman. And if you haven’t seen this woman at work, get your butt in a chair and watch TV Land for the rest of the day. She was fearless, funny, and memorable. She was the first woman to ever own her own studio.

There are plenty of other phenominally funny women who are more my age (I am also currently obsessed with Mindy Kaling), but these are the women I just sit back and marvel at. Not only are they brilliant and beautiful, they did not let the pressure to be a stereotypical perfect, primed, housewife get in the way of making others and themselves laugh. As the up and coming comedic genius Emma Stone says, “I always thought it’s way more important to be funny or to be honest than to look a certain way.”

So, to these funny ladies, I have HUGE LESBIAN crushes on you! Thank you for everything.

One comment

Leave a Reply

